Early Childhood + Lower School Hub

Nursery–Grade 5

Blogs

Oak Leaves | Oak Room | Ginkgo Room (if you don't have the password check with the classroom teacher.)

Newsletters

Kindergarten | Grade 1 | Grade 2 | Grade 3 | Grade 4 | Grade 5


A Safety Reminder

This is a friendly reminder that we all must be sure to drive slowly and carefully during drop-off and pickup. There is so much happening during these busy times and we have observed that some cars drive too fast down East Orchard, particularly if they are heading to the circle or to make a right turn onto Paterson. Thank you. 

Read More about A Safety Reminder

 

Lower School Learning Expectations

The Lincoln Lower School Learning Expectations guide teachers as they develop curriculum in what students will know and be able to do by the end of the year. As well, they provide parents with an understanding of their child’s school experience, thus creating a strong parent-school partnership.

By Grade Level
Kindergarten | Grade 1 | Grade 2 |
Grade 3 | Grade 4 | Grade 5
 

Bea’s Book Bags is a Little and Lower School library program (for our 2yo through Grade 5 students) dedicated to promoting a love of reading, one tote at a time. Each collection of specially curated books, anchored in students’ unique interests, will spark young imaginations, stoke new interests, and plant the seeds for a lifetime of continuous discovery.

Is your child interested in dinosaurs? Ms. Lenihan will pull some prehistoric favorites. Have a Ramona-obsessed reader on your hands? Your child’s bag could be filled with titles from similar authors with interesting stories to explore. And if you’re looking for something undiscovered, plenty of wonder will find its way to you.

All you have to do to secure your child’s Bea’s Book Bag is fill out the request form and await your turn to take home your bag for up to 3 weeks of enjoyment with family and friends. Get some curated books for children’s curious minds today! Happy reading.

Missed Bea’s story last year? Click here for the full read.

 

2022–23 Lincoln School Family Handbook

This Handbook can serve as a guide for students and families throughout the school year, for both large ideas and smaller details about how we operate. 

GreenScene

Please Welcome!

We are pleased to announce that Kate Rezendes, who graduated in 2001, has returned to the Lincoln community as an Administrative Assistant for Little & Lower Schools. We are excited to have her as part of the team! Please say hello to Kate the next time you are in Lower School. She is eager to meet everyone!

Grade Five is Inspired by Trailblazers

During their study of the Women’s Rights Movement in Social Studies, Grade 5 students learned about key individuals and events in the women’s suffrage movement. To introduce the unit, students read picture books that highlight the achievements of various suffragists including Amelia Bloomer, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Esther Morris, and more. They also read a biography of Susan B. Anthony to learn about biographies as a genre.

Read All Day!

Recently students in Grades 2–5 undertook a day full of reading. Wearing cozy clothes and accompanied by blankets, stuffies, and pillows, the students spent the day immersed in the wonderful world of books (of all kinds!). Even teachers joined in on the fun, wearing their own cozy clothes and modeling a love of reading for all students. 

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jan 8
Mon, Jan 9
Wed, Jan 11
Thu, Jan 12
Winter Concert K-12
Music Center
Fri, Jan 13
Sat, Jan 14
Sun, Jan 15
Tue, Jan 17
Wed, Jan 18
Vaccinate Before you Graduate
-
LSPA Book Club
-
Thu, Jan 19
Grade 5 Parent Coffee
-
Fri, Jan 20
Sat, Jan 21
Sun, Jan 22
Mon, Jan 23
Tue, Jan 24
Wed, Jan 25
Thu, Jan 26
LSPA Meeting
Fri, Jan 27
Sat, Jan 28
Sun, Jan 29
Mon, Jan 30
Tue, Jan 31
Wed, Feb 1
Fri, Feb 3
Sat, Feb 4